RSS Feed

Exfoliate 101

Some people have questions on why you should exfoliate and how often. I believe that exfoliation is a key part in any skin care routine. It doesn’t matter if you have dry, oily, sensitive, or mature skin there are different products out there for every skin type. Exfoliate means to remove a layer of skin in flakes or scales. The skin is the largest organ on the body, which means that new cells are always replacing old cells. The old dead cells get pushed up and flake off, which causes dry skin. By exfoliating you sloth off the dead skin cells and makes room for the new healthy skin cells. Over exfoliating is something that you don’t want to do because it can irradiate the skin and cause redness, premature wrinkles, and dryness.

Why should you exfoliate?

You should exfoliate to clear your pores of dirt and oil. When you wear make-up or even just go outside for a jog with no makeup, the chances of you getting dirt and oil into your pores is more than likely. If you was your face daily you are washing the dirt off, but you can’t always get in as deep to clean as well. This gives you more of a chance to get breakouts and blackheads even with daily face washing. Another reason to exfoliate is to give your skin a healthy glow. When you remove head skin cells you are allowing the new fresh cells to be exposed there for, making your skin glow. And who wouldn’t want that J-Lo glow?

How often should I exfoliate?

You should exfoliate 1-3 times per week depending on your skin and also the product. If you have sensitive skin you are going to use a gentler exfoliator and only use that 1-2 times per week. I myself have oily skin so I need to use one that is coarser. I use mine about 3 times per week depending on the season. In winter I exfoliate more often because my skin tends to be a little drier than summer. In the summer I tend to get oilier because it’s hotter and more humid, so I do it about twice a week. I suggest starting off 1 time per week and if your skin doesn’t become irritated than the following week add another day into your routine

Which product should I buy?

I can only speak for myself and what works well for me, but there are so many different brands that are great. Depending on how much you want to spend, you can find drugstore brands that work good and department stores that work even better. Here are just a few that I like and want to share with you; my personal favorite that I use is Dermalogica Skin Prep Scrub, it’s for oily skin and costs about $28.00. Lancôme Exfoliance Confort is for all skin types and cost $32.00. St Ives Apricot Scrub for Oily Skin is a good drugstore brand that has the coarser granules and salicylic acid, the cost is about $5.00. Lastly Laura Mercier Face Polish is a gentle enough to use daily, works with all skin types, and costs $30.00




Adding an exfoliation into your skin care routine is something every women and man should try. I promise that you will be so happy once you find a product that works best with your type of skin. Make sure you really work the product into your skin and rinse thoroughly. If you don’t like it at first, give it another shot it may take a couple times for the results to really shine thru!! Now go out there and start slothing!!!

XoXo

About Sensational Finds

I am a 24yr old women. I love fashion, beauty, decorating, and anything pretty. Sensational Finds is all about finding great pieces in this

Leave a Reply

