RSS Feed

Lashin’ Out

One makeup product I can’t live without is mascara. The days that I am running late or don’t feel like doing a full face of makeup I always have my mascara and liquid eyeliner. Some women like to have volume and some like length, I like mascaras that give length and separation. Lancôme is my Holy Grail product, I can’t live without it. Don’t get me wrong I do like to try different brands, but I always go back to my Lancôme L’extreme or Definicils. Both products give you long lashes, as well as separate and define. The Definicils brush is patented to coat your lashes from base to tip. The wand is small enough to get each lash top and bottom. L’extreme is designed to extend your lashes up to 60% by using Fiberstrectch, which attaches supple fibers to every lash for an instant lash extension effect. The wand is thicker than the Definicils but thin enough to get every lash. Some brands that lengthen can cause your lashes to look like spiders, the mascara clumps and breaks your lashes off. Each of these mascaras cost about $25.00 and can be purchased at department stores, Sephora, or online.

I have found drugstore mascaras that work as well as expensive brands, for a fraction of the cost. For longer lashes, L’Oreal Lash Out and Telescopic are great products. The Telescopic brush is flat on one side to draw lashes out and a comb on the other to separate with exact precision. Lash Out has a teddy bear brush that smoothly coats lashes to build and separate without clumping.  You can find each of these at any drugstore for about $9.00. The ladies that like volume should try Cover girl Lashblast and Maybelline XXL Pro Volume. Lashblast has a thick wand that volumizes and separates lashes. If you have short eyelashes this product is great to give the extra boost you need for thicker dramatic lashes. XXL Pro Volume does the same thickening and separating lashes but, this product is dual ended. One end of the mascara has a primer that helps to lengthen with microfibers and helps the mascara to stay on all day. The other end has the mascara that adds the intense color. Price for both is around $9.00 each.

I am constantly being asked how my eyelashes are so long and what products I use. Thankfully have longer lashes to start off with but when I do my mascara, I take my time and use multiple coats. I also use an eyelash comb to get any extra clumps and separate my lashes even more. I don’t use primer because I feel like they can cause extreme clumping. They may work for some people, but personally I don’t like them. I try to keep my lashes as clump-free as possible, so I will apply a little moisturizer to my top lashes before applying my first coat. Then I will do about 10-15 coats, that may seem like a lot but since I use the comb it removes any clumps that may form. The more mascara you use the darker your lashes will be. I do not worry about product that goes onto my skin because it usually happens; I just take Q-tips and lotion to remove the product. Depending on what type of makeup I am doing I try and do the shadow last. If I’m doing a cat eye or neutral shadow, I will do the shadow last, but if I’m doing a more dramatic eye then I will do the eye shadow first.

Get the lashes you love by using an eyelash curler first, do numerous coats for a longer/thicker look, using an eyelash comb to separate and remove any clumps, applying mascara to the bottom lashes with the tip of the wand and do no more than 3 coats, and remove any product that gets onto your skin with a q-tip and lotion. You might have to go through a couple of losers to find a winner, but there is mascara that you will end up loving and wonder why you never tried it in the first place!!!

Happy Shopping!

XoXo

Cover Girl Lashblast

Lancome L'extreme

Lancome Definicils

Maybelline XXL-Pro Volume

About Sensational Finds

I am a 24yr old women. I love fashion, beauty, decorating, and anything pretty. Sensational Finds is all about finding great pieces in this

Leave a Reply

