RSS Feed

Wedding Fright!

The saying goes “You plan, and God laughs” right now God is laughing at me a little too hard. I am 24 year old women, in a long term relationship, and always dreamed of getting married and having a family. When I first met my boyfriend Bobby, I always said I would not be one of those girls that are with someone for 7 years and aren’t married. Well, 6 years later, I’m still waiting for the ring! Bobby is a great guy, and I know that he loves me, the only problem is he’s a realist. He thinks that marriage is just a piece of paper, and doesn’t define his love for me. Myself, on the other hand, was raised Catholic, the daughter of a deacon, and went to Catholic school my entire life. I was always taught that marriage is a sign of commitment and love, but also a sacrament. Since I am waiting to have kids until I get married it seems like my plan for life is in Bobbys’ hands! Just my luck, the love of my life isnt big on having kids. I know that he does want to have kids some day but isn’t in a rush.I always go back to how we were raised and if that might play a part in the differences we have. So here is a little background, I am the youngest of 8 children. There are 4 boys and 4 girls, I was adopted into my family at birth, as well as two other sisters that have different parents. My mom wanted more kids and my dad always let her have what she wanted! My parents were married for 37 years before my mom passed away when I was 10. She was a homemaker and my father was a carpenter, my mom was home with us every day after school, cooked dinner, cleaned the house, and held together the family. My dad worked hard to support all of us, but he was definitely “the man of the house”. My brothers are a lot older than me and my 2 sisters, the age difference is about 25 years, so they were all married and out of the house. Growing up I always saw marriage as a beautiful bond that you share with someone you love. Bobby grew up with his mom and sister, his mom worked hard everyday to provide for them both, which ment that he would be home alone after school, had to cook his own dinner, and make sure he did his homework. His father decided not to be in his life, so he never had that male figure to look up to. He has such a close bond with his sister because it’s just the two of them. He saw his mother as the women who did it all, she was mom and dad. We grew up so differently, and I don’t know if it has anything to do with our views on marriage, but I would love to hear what you think. Do you think our childhoods have anything to do with our views on marriage? By the way, sorry for blabbing these thoughts, I am just curious to see what you, the world has to say.

About Sensational Finds

I am a 24yr old women. I love fashion, beauty, decorating, and anything pretty. Sensational Finds is all about finding great pieces in this

Leave a Reply

