RSS Feed

How I survived the 1st week of motherhood

I consider myself to be a planner and an over thinker, so when I got pregnant this was maximized to the 10th power. I was constantly making list and thing to do’s but there are just somethings that you can’t plan for and need to experience on your own. I must say this past week has been great, I think that has a lot to do with me being prepared. Raising a baby is like starting the first day of kindergarten, you’re so excited but have no clue what a long journey you’re in for. Here are a couple of things I have found to be live-savers so far.

1. Moby Wrap- This is something I’ve used everyday since baby and I came home from the hospital. I love to be able to hold him while I browse the internet and blog. Without the wrap he would be sleeping in his swing or bouncer seat, and I would feel bad because he isn’t getting any attention. I read somewhere that newborns are going thru the 4th trimester and need to be close to their mothers for most of the day. In most countries babies are always in slings and carried by the mother, this creates a healthy bond. I love the fact that I can do almost anything I would normally do if I wasn’t holding him.

2. Medela Nipple Shields Hands down the best breast-feeding accessory, for mothers that can’t get baby to latch properly. While I was in the hospital I had almost every nurse trying to help me get baby B to nurse. He would get it sometimes, but for the most part would just scream and cry. They had me try every hold, skin-to-skin, formula on the nipple, and they would even hold the nipple out for baby to latch, nothing worked! I went home discouraged, I have HUGE TaTas and can’t feed my baby. My sister then told me she had the same problem and used the nipple shields. I immediately went out and got them, it worked. Now baby feeds like a champ every 2 hours. The only thing I would say is that I don’t think I have small nipples, I think they are average, but I had to get a small-sized shield. So be careful when buying your because your little one might not be able to suck hard enough to get the nipple through.

3.Swaddle Me- I know that not every newborn likes to be swaddled but, mine loves it. He loves to  be in a tight wrap, and doing it with the receiving blanket can be difficult. Every time the baby would come back from the nursery at the hospital he would be sound asleep. They had the ability to wrap him so well he would instantly calm down, the 2nd night he was in my room I couldn’t get him to stop crying. I had to call a nurse in just to swaddle him, I thought, “what the hell am I gonna do when I get home?” The Swaddle Me makes so quick and easy. I have been using the 5 s’s from the Happiest Baby on the Block and I swear it works, you should check it out they have videos on YouTube.

Here’s a couple pictures of me in action using the products I’ve talked about. Now I’m off to put my baby boy to bed and spend some much needed QT with my honey.

Hope you all have a Sensational Day!

About Sensational Finds

I am a 24yr old women. I love fashion, beauty, decorating, and anything pretty. Sensational Finds is all about finding great pieces in this

Leave a Reply

